At THEM, the only "stars" are the craftswomen and men, and their creations that are steeped in history. Too often left behind the scenes, I have designed THEM to place them centre stage.

Berber rugs…. A fair approach with a fair price.

Looking for a better balance, I restructured the sales channels of an item that I really care about. Berber rugs.

Every year, I make several trips to their source, the tiny Berber villages in the Middle Atlas mountains, in order to seek out for you Béni Ouarain rugs with their graphic shapes, Azilal rugs with their vibrant colours, some rare Boujad rugs… I work directly with the craftswomen of the beautiful Moroccan mountains, and have eliminated the middlemen.

My goal? To offer you a fair price.

An ethical way of working, which I believe is essential when you are dealing with craftsmanship. But also, more equitable for the craftswomen, for you and for me.

At THEM, all the Berber rugs have price tags of between EUR 150 and EUR 490. From the smallest to the largest! No exceptions.

le concept.jpg

But in addition… Rare and exclusive handcrafted artefacts.

In addition to the well-known and much-loved Berber rugs, I have explored some untravelled roads in far-flung corners of the planet, to unearth some other rare, handcrafted artefacts for you.

Amazing meetings in small towns throbbing with life, or in local villages off the beaten track, long creative discussions which yielded shared plans and desires. Pooling skills and knowledge, with a single guiding principle: preserving authentic traditional production, introducing modernity in the designs.

Vases plaited by natives of the Amazon basin, a reinterpretation of pre-Columbian art in sublime jewels, bohemian ceramics from Los Angeles, vegetable incense from the rich Amazon basin, indigo cushions woven in Mali, and more.

A range of decorations and accessories made from natural materials with unparalleled skill.

To complete my product range, I wanted to offer you the quintessence of cosmetics. A brand with an exemplary approach and list of ingredients, 100% plant-based. Its approach totally redefines the standards for the industry and raises the bar for beauty. Through this, I want to convince you that nature offers everything we need.

le concept 2.jpg

I wanted to give back meaning to the term “craftsman/craftswoman”.

One of my goals in setting up THEM was to give back meaning to the term “craftsman/craftswoman”.

Today, being hand-made does not always mean quality or ethical production. In India, for example, numerous “craftsman factories” exist. Items created on a hand-made production line, working under very poor conditions. Made very cheaply by hand, and more profitably than investing in machines. Hand-made, yes, but taking a factory approach. A hand-made label which is then publicised and exploited for marketing purposes. 

Hand-made yes, but unethical.

For THEM, I seek out the craftsmen and women in all the little family workshops, who are passionate about their skills. Very often, they have learned their trade from their parents, and intend to pass it on to their children.

My aim is to become involved, at my own level, in preserving these inherited skills.

The indigenous peoples of Colombia, the women weavers of Morocco, the dyers of Mail, all these people have golden hands, and are too often forgotten, pushed aside.

With THEM my goal is to move them back centre stage.

le concept 3.jpg

Chez THEM, les seules "stars" sont les artisans et leurs créations chargées d'histoire. Trop souvent restés dans l'ombre, j'ai pensé THEM en les plaçant au centre.

Les tapis berbères... Une approche et un prix justes.

Dans une recherche d'un meilleur équilibre, j'ai repensé la vente d'un objet qui me tient à coeur. Le tapis berbère.

Régulièrement dans l'année, je m'aventure à la source, dans de petits villages berbères du Moyen Atlas afin de vous dénicher des tapis Béni Ouarain aux formes graphiques, des tapis Azilal aux couleurs vives, des Boujad rares... Je travaille en direct avec les artisans des belles montagnes marocaines et ai supprimé les intermédiaires.

Mon objectif ? Vous offrir le prix juste.

Un mode de fonctionnement éthique, à mes yeux essentiel lorsque l'on propose de l'artisanat. Mais aussi... plus juste pour l'artisan, vous et moi.

Chez THEM, tous les tapis berbères sont proposés entre 150 et 490euros. Les plus petits, comme les plus grands. Aucune exception.

le concept.jpg

Mais aussi... Des création artisanales rares et exclusives.

Au delà du connu mais tant aimé tapis berbère, je me suis aventurée sur des routes encore inexplorées des 4 coins de la planète pour vous dénicher des créations artisanales rares.

Des rencontres exceptionnelles dans de petites villes gorgées de vie ou des villages reculés indigènes... de longues discussions créatives qui aboutissent sur de nouvelles envies communes. Un échange de compétences, de savoirs, avec une seule ligne directrice : l'authenticité dans la création et la modernité dans le design.

Vases tressés par des indigènes du coeur de l'Amazonie, une réinterpréation de l'art précolombien en sublimes bijoux, céramique bohème de Los Angeles, encens végétal de la riche Amazonie, coussin indigo tissé du Mali...

Une offre de décoration et accessoires aux matières naturelles et au savoir-faire inégalé.

Pour parfaire mon offre, j'ai tenu à vous proposer la quintessence des cosmétiques. Une marque aux pratiques et à la composition exemplaires, 100% végétale. Elle redéfinit totalement les normes de l'industrie et de la beauté à travers ses pratiques. Par le biais de celle-ci, je souhaite démontrer que la nature offre tout ce don nous avons besoin.

le concept 2.jpg

J'ai voulu redonner du sens au mot artisan.

En créant THEM, un de mes objectifs était de redonner du sens au mot artisan.

Aujourd’hui le fait-main n’est pas forcément une preuve de qualité et d’éthique. En Inde par exemple, il existe de nombreuses usines d’artisans. Un fait-main à la chaîne et dans de très mauvaises conditions. Un fait-main très peu coûteux et plus rentable qu’un investissement dans des machines. Un fait-main certes mais un fonctionnement d’usine. Un fait-main qui ensuite est utilisé et mis en avant pour des besoins de marketing. 

Fait-main oui, mais avec aucune éthique.

Pour THEM, je déniche des artisans, dans de tout petits ateliers familiaux, qui sont passionnés par leur métier. Très souvent, ils ont acquis leur savoir-faire par leurs parents et ont pour objectif de le transmettre à leurs enfants.

Mon objectif est de participer, à mon échelle, à la préservation de ces savoir-faire ancestraux.

Les indigènes de Colombie, les femmes tisseuses du Maroc, les teinturiers du Mali… toutes ces personnes ont de l’or dans les mains et sont souvent oubliés, mis dans l’ombre.

Avec THEM, j'ai pour ambition de les replacer au centre du concept.

le concept 3.jpg

Vous ne m'empêcherez pas de vous raconter l'histoire de chaque création. Laissez-vous porter par la magie du fait-main...

Marion Pelouzet, fondatrice.